FIFA Releases 23-man Shortlist For World’s Best Player 2016

‚ÄčThe World Governing Body for the game has released its list of the best players in 2016. The list has several similar nominees with the Balloon D’Or but there are some notable changes.

Goalkeepers Rui Patricio and Hugo Lloris miss out here while Koke,  Godin and Pepe also miss out. Riyad Mahrez is Africa’s only representative while Sergio Ramos is the only defender on the shortlist. 

Check out the full list below:

Sergio Aguero

Gareth Bale

Gianluigi Buffon

Kevin De Bruyne

Antoine Griezmann

Zlatan Ibrahimovic

Andres Iniesta

N’Golo Kante

Toni Kroos

Robert Lewandowski

Riyad Mahrez

Lionel Messi

Luka Modric

Manuel Neuer


Mesut Ozil

Dimitri Payet

Paul Pogba

Sergio Ramos

Cristiano Ronaldo

Alexis Sanchez

Luis Suarez

Jamie Vardy